Three Clinical Syndromes have been grouped under the subtypes of MSA:

1.- MSA-A or Autonomic Type (Shy-Drager type) in which Autonomic nervous system dysfunction predominates.

2.- MSA-P or Parkinsonian Type in which striatonigral degeneration predominates.

3.- MSA-C or Cerebellar Type in which olivopontocerebellar atrophy predominates.


StriatoNigral areas affected in MSA-P
Striatum (Caudate Nucleus + Putamen) and
Substantia Nigra

Main areas of Dopamine Biosynthesis